Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register

RSA-TCP Article Prize in Digital Renaissance Research

The Renaissance Society of America and the Text Creation Partnership (TCP) jointly offer a $600 prize for scholarly uses of the range and depth of digitized Renaissance materials. The purpose of the prize is to encourage and reward scholarship that expressly emerges from the scholar's use of databases or digitized research objects.

To be eligible, the article must be written in English by a current member of the RSA and deal with a topic within the chronological period 1300–1700. Eligible topics are new interpretations of Renaissance literature, history, art, music, philosophy, and other disciplines within the chronological period 1300-1700, in any of the vernacular languages or in Latin. The article should directly cite digital resources using standard conventions. It should not be primarily archival, bibliographic, or pedagogical in nature.

Any individual RSA member may submit exactly one article, published in or after July 2013, for prize consideration. Normally, forthcoming articles are ineligible.

The application deadline is 28 November 2014.

This prize is sponsored by the TCP, a cooperative association of scores of academic libraries, Michigan Publishing at the University of Michigan, and commercial publishers. TCP is the leading producer of digital, text-searchable editions of early printed manuscripts. TCP’s aim is to produce standardized, digitally encoded editions of early print books. The chief sources of TCP’s digital images are databases that include Proquest’s Early English Books Online (EEBO), Gale’s Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), and Readex’s Evans Early American Imprints. Through the TCP, commercial publishers and over 150 different libraries have come together to fund the conversion of these cultural heritage materials into enduring, digitally dynamic editions.

Recipients of the RSA-TCP Article Prize

The William Nelson Prize

An award of $600 is given annually for the best article published in Renaissance Quarterly during the preceding calendar year. All peer-reviewed, accepted articles published in the journal are automatically eligible for the prize. Like all contributions to RQ, essays should appeal to readers of more than one discipline. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1985.

Recipients of the William Nelson Prize

The Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize

The Renaissance Society of America awards an annual book prize of $1,000 in memory of the late Phyllis Goodhart Gordan, a strong supporter of the RSA from its earliest days. The purpose of the prize is to recognize significant accomplishments in Renaissance Studies by members of the RSA and to encourage Renaissance scholarship, both of which have been goals of the RSA since its founding in 1954.

The Gordan Prize for the year 2015 will be awarded to the author of the best book in Renaissance studies published between 1 July 2013 and 30 June 2014. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting in 2014. To be eligible the book must be written in English by a current member of the RSA. The prize will be awarded for a book with a topic within the chronological period 1300–1700. Books dealing with Renaissance history, any of the vernacular literatures or Latin, art, music, philosophy, and other disciplines recognized by RSA are eligible. Bibliographical works and scholarly aids are eligible for the Gordan Prize, but editions of texts, translations into English, and edited collections will not be considered. Books will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. contribution to Renaissance Studies;
  2. originality in insight and research;
  3. clarity and eloquence;
  4. thoroughness and accuracy in documentation.


For the 2015 prize, four copies of each work are due in the RSA office postmarked by or on 15 July 2014. Each entry should be labeled “Gordan Book Prize.” Renaissance Society of America, The Graduate School and University Center, The City University of New York, 365 Fifth Avenue, Room 5400, New York, NY 10016-4309 USA.

Recipients of the Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize

The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Book Prize

The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Best Book Prize in Renaissance Venetian Studies will be awarded by the RSA in alternate years for eligible books published the previous two years. The award includes an honorarium of $1,000. The “Renaissance” will, of course, be understood in an expansive sense. To be eligible the book must be written in English by a current member of the RSA. Books in Venetian studies that were eligible for the Gordan prize will automatically be eligible for the Delmas prize; relevant books submitted in the year in which the Delmas Prize is not awarded will be held for the following year and need not be resubmitted. The deadline for the next award, to be given in 2015, is 15 July 2014; books published between 1 July 2012 and 30 June 2014 are eligible.

Recipients of the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Book Prize

The Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors a lifetime of uncompromising devotion to the highest standard of scholarship accompanied by exceptional achievement in Renaissance studies. It is intended for a scholar whose accomplishments call to mind the example of Paul Oskar Kristeller. The award is designed to honor a scholar for lifetime achievement rather than an individual work or works of scholarship. The recipient must be a living scholar who is, or has been, a member of the Renaissance Society of America.

The selection will be made at the October meeting of the Executive Board and announced at the following annual meeting. Nominations are rolling and can be submitted at any time, but to be considered in October they should arrive by 31 August. The pool of nominees will be held over from year to year, so neither repeat nominations nor campaigns are necessary. Since the candidates will be of such distinction that they will be known to a wide swath of the membership, only a short letter of nomination is required, at most one page.

Exceptionally, the award for the spring meeting of 2015 (Berlin) has been decided. Nominations submitted up to 31 August 2015 will be considered in October 2015 for an award in March 2016 (Boston).

Recipients of the Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

Submit a Nomination

Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal