Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Discipline Representatives

Discipline Representatives are elected every three years for twenty-five disciplines in Renaissance studies. Most disciplines have one representative, but the larger fields of history, art and architecture, and English literature each have three representatives. Each member of the RSA selects a primary discipline group upon joining, but can join other groups as well.

These are the expectations for the position. First, and most importantly, a Discipline Representative will encourage and organize panels for the annual meeting, and submit them to the RSA submission site. Such panels will be accepted without further vetting as long as the panels comply with the RSA guidelines. Second, Discipline Representatives make up the Editorial Advisory Board for Renaissance Quarterly and are listed on the journal’s masthead; the Editorial Advisory Board is an invaluable resource for the RQ Articles Editor and the RQ Reviews Editor. Finally, some Discipline Representatives engage the members registered in their discipline through their discipline’s group pages on the RSA website. Discipline Representatives are convened by the Society’s President at the annual meeting and also attend a meeting with the RQ editors.

A Discipline Representative is elected for a three-year term and can, after consultation with the Board, run for a second term.

Discipline Representatives 2015–17

Alejandra B. Osorio
Emily O'Brien

Art and Architecture
Christy Anderson
Karen-edis Barzman
Tracy E. Cooper

Islamic World
Kaya Sahin


Book History
Andrew Pettegree

Italian Literature
Eleonora Stoppino

Classical Tradition
Kathy Eden
Legal and Political Thought
Johann Sommerville

Comparative Literature
Jessica Lynn Wolfe

Medicine and Science
Monica Azzolini

Digital Humanities
Angela Dressen

Janie Cole

William E. Engel
Neo-Latin Literature
Susanna de Beer

English Literature
James A. Knapp
Richard C. McCoy
Karen Nelson

Performing Arts and Theater
Robert Henke

French Literature
Hugh Roberts

David A. Lines

Germanic Literature
Anne-Laure van Bruaene

Tamar Herzig

Dana E. Katz

Elizabeth Skerpan-Wheeler

Hispanic Literature
Susan Byrne

Women and Gender
Sarah G. Ross

Megan C. Armstrong
Eric R. Dursteler
Mary R. Laven

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal