Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
The William Nelson Prize

An award of $600 is given annually for the best article published in Renaissance Quarterly during the preceding calendar year. All peer-reviewed, accepted articles published in the journal are automatically eligible for the prize. Like all contributions to RQ, essays should appeal to readers of more than one discipline. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1985.

Recipients of the William Nelson Prize for the best article published in Renaissance Quarterly

2016 Winners

Michael W. Cole, Columbia University, and Diletta Gamberini, The Middlebury School in Italy
“Vincenzo Danti's Deceits.” Vol. 69, no. 4 (2016): 1296–1342.

Previous winners

2015 Renée J. Raphael
2015 Amanda Wunder (honorable mention)
2014 John Gagné
2013 Jessica Buskirk
2012 Ewa Kocieszewska
2012 Jessica Maier (honorable mention)
2011 Stefania Tutino
2010 Erin J. Campbell
2009 Nicholas Scott Baker
2008 Frances Gage
2007 Kristine Louise Haugen
2006 Anne-Laure van Bruaene
2005 Laura Camille Agoston
2004 Philip Schwyzer
2003 Virginia Cox
2003 Stephen J. Campbell
2002 Anthony F. D’Elia
2001 Thomas M. Greene
2000 John M. Headley
1999 Geraldine A. Johnson
1998 Arthur Field
1997 Lyle Massey
1996 Deborah Harkness
1995 Virginia Cox
1994 Katherine Park
1993 Robert Miola
1992 Patrick Macey
1991 Ann Carmichael
1990 Paula Findlen
1989 Richard Goldthwaite
1988 John Monfasani
1987 Michael Keefer
1986 David S. Peterson
1986 Julie F. Goodell
1986 Caroline Walker Bynum
1985 Ingrid Rowland
1984 David Quint

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal