Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors a lifetime of uncompromising devotion to the highest standard of scholarship accompanied by exceptional achievement in Renaissance studies. It is intended for a scholar whose accomplishments call to mind the example of Paul Oskar Kristeller. The award is designed to honor a scholar for lifetime achievement rather than an individual work or works of scholarship. The recipient must be a living scholar who is, or has been, a member of the Renaissance Society of America.

The selection will be made at the October meeting of the Executive Board and announced at the following annual meeting. Nominations are rolling and can be submitted at any time, but to be considered for the 2018 award they should arrive by October 4. The pool of nominees will be held over from year to year, so neither repeat nominations nor campaigns are necessary. Since the candidates will be of such distinction that they will be known to a wide swath of the membership, only a short letter of nomination is required, at most one page.

Nominations submitted up to 4 October 2017 will be considered for an award in March 2018 (New Orleans).

Submit a Nomination

Recipients of the Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

2017 Paul F. Grendler, University of Toronto

Previous winners

2016 Barbara Lewalski
2015 Michael J. B. Allen
2014 Natalie Zemon Davis
2013 Ronald G. Witt
2012 James Hankins
2011 François Rigolot
2010 Cesare Vasoli
2009 Richard Goldthwaite
2008 Lewis Lockwood
2007 David Rosand
2006 Arthur F. Kinney
2005 John W. O’Malley
2004 Nancy Siraisi
2003 Christiane Klapish-Zuber
2002 David Bevington
2001 Eugenio Garin
2000 Gene A. Brucker
1999 Thomas M. Greene
1998 James S. Ackerman
1997 Charles Trinkaus
1996 F. Edward Cranz

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal