This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
The William Nelson Prize

The RSA gives an annual award for the best article published in Renaissance Quarterly during the preceding calendar year. All peer-reviewed, accepted articles published in the journal are automatically eligible for the prize. Like all contributions to RQ, essays should appeal to readers of more than one discipline. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1985.

Recipients of the William Nelson Prize for the best article published in Renaissance Quarterly

2019 Winner

Giancarlo Casale, University of Minnesota / European University Institute
“Did Alexander the Great Discover America? Debating Space and Time in Renaissance Istanbul” Vol. 72, No. 3 (2019): 863–909.

2019 Honorable mention

Richard Calis, Princeton University
“Reconstructing the Ottoman Greek World: Early Modern Ethnography in the Household of Martin Crusius.” Vol. 72, No. 1 (2019): 148–193.


Previous winners

2018 Virginia Cox
2018 Andrew Gordon (honorable mention)
2017 Jessica Goethals
2016 Michael W. Cole and Diletta Gamberini
2015 Renée J. Raphael
2015 Amanda Wunder (honorable mention)
2014 John Gagné
2013 Jessica Buskirk
2012 Ewa Kocieszewska
2012 Jessica Maier (honorable mention)
2011 Stefania Tutino
2010 Erin J. Campbell
2009 Nicholas Scott Baker
2008 Frances Gage
2007 Kristine Louise Haugen
2006 Anne-Laure van Bruaene
2005 Laura Camille Agoston
2004 Philip Schwyzer
2003 Virginia Cox
2003 Stephen J. Campbell
2002 Anthony F. D’Elia
2001 Thomas M. Greene
2000 John M. Headley
1999 Geraldine A. Johnson
1998 Arthur Field
1997 Lyle Massey
1996 Deborah Harkness
1995 Virginia Cox
1994 Katherine Park
1993 Robert Miola
1992 Patrick Macey
1991 Ann Carmichael
1990 Paula Findlen
1989 Richard Goldthwaite
1988 John Monfasani
1987 Michael Keefer
1986 David S. Peterson
1986 Julie F. Goodell
1986 Caroline Walker Bynum
1985 Ingrid Rowland
1984 David Quint

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal