This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize

The Renaissance Society of America awards an annual book prize in memory of the late Phyllis Goodhart Gordan, a strong supporter of the RSA from its earliest days. The 2020 Gordan Prize will be awarded to the author of the best book in Renaissance studies published between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019. To be eligible the book must be written in English by a current member of the RSA. The prize will be awarded for a book with a topic within the chronological period 1300–1700. Books dealing with Renaissance history, any of the vernacular literatures or Latin, art, music, philosophy, and other disciplines recognized by the RSA are eligible. Bibliographical works and scholarly aids are eligible for the Gordan Prize, but editions of texts, translations into English, and edited collections will not be considered. Books will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. contribution to Renaissance Studies;
  2. originality in insight and research;
  3. clarity and eloquence;
  4. thoroughness and accuracy in documentation.
6 April 2020 Update: Please do not mail books for consideration to the RSA offices, as the staff is working remotely at this time. Updates regarding the submission process for the 2021 Gordan Prize will be posted in this space and communicated to current RSA members via email later this summer.

2020 Recipient of the Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize

Su Fang Ng, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Alexander the Great from Britain to Southeast Asia: Peripheral Empires in the Global Renaissance
(Oxford University Press, 2019).

Previous winners

2019 Carmen C. Bambach
2018 Peter Fane-Saunders
2017 Todd W. Reeser
2016 Jotham Parsons
2015 Lawrence Manley and SallyBeth MacLean
2014 Nicholas Terpstra
2013 Anthony Cascardi
2012 Elizabeth Eva Leach
2011 Andrew Pettegree
2010 Richard A. Goldthwaite
2009 Margaret Meserve
2008 Margreta de Grazia
2007 Tracy E. Cooper
2006 Alison Knowles Frazier
2005 Christopher Celenza
2004 Philip Benedict
2003 Benjamin Schmidt
2002 Alexander Nagel
2001 Ronald G. Witt
2000 Patrick Macey
1999 John Headley
1998 Patricia Fortini Brown
1997 James M. Saslow
1996 Jeffrey Chipps Smith

Previous honorable mention

2019 Nicholas Hardy
2017 Blair Hoxby
2016 Peter Arnade and Walter Prevenier
2015 Gregory Murry
2006 Louis A. Montrose
2006 Debora Shuger
2005 Georgia Clarke
2005 Margaret W. Ferguson
2004 P. Renee Baernstein
2004 Rona Goffen

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal