Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors a lifetime of uncompromising devotion to the highest standard of scholarship accompanied by exceptional achievement in Renaissance studies. It is intended for a scholar whose accomplishments call to mind the example of Paul Oskar Kristeller. The award is designed to honor a scholar for lifetime achievement rather than an individual work or works of scholarship. Recipients must be senior scholars of the highest distinction, and known to have actively mentored others in their field. They must generally be of emeritus rank, if from academic life, or equivalent standing otherwise. Under normal circumstances the award is not intended to go to former presidents of the RSA. The recipient must be a living scholar who is, or has been, a member of the Renaissance Society of America, and, ideally, has participated in RSA activities.

The selection will be made at the October meeting of the Board of Directors and announced at the following Annual Meeting. Nominations are rolling and can be submitted at any time, but to be considered for the 2019 award they should arrive by August 31, 2018. The pool of nominees will be held over from year to year, so neither repeat nominations nor campaigns are necessary. Since the candidates will be of such distinction that they will be known to a wide swath of the membership, only a short letter of nomination is required, at most one page.

Nominations submitted up to 31 August 2018 will be considered for an award in March 2019 (Toronto).

Submit a Nomination

Recipients of the Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

2018 Margaret L. KingBrooklyn College and The Graduate Center, CUNY

Previous winners

2017 Paul F. Grendler
2016 Barbara Lewalski
2015 Michael J. B. Allen
2014 Natalie Zemon Davis
2013 Ronald G. Witt
2012 James Hankins
2011 François Rigolot
2010 Cesare Vasoli
2009 Richard Goldthwaite
2008 Lewis Lockwood
2007 David Rosand
2006 Arthur F. Kinney
2005 John W. O’Malley
2004 Nancy Siraisi
2003 Christiane Klapish-Zuber
2002 David Bevington
2001 Eugenio Garin
2000 Gene A. Brucker
1999 Thomas M. Greene
1998 James S. Ackerman
1997 Charles Trinkaus
1996 F. Edward Cranz

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal