This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Discipline Representatives

Discipline Representatives are elected every three years for twenty-six disciplines in Renaissance studies. Most disciplines have one representative, but the larger fields of art and architecture, English literature, and history each have three representatives. Each member of the RSA selects a primary discipline group upon joining the Society, but may join other groups as well.

Discipline Representatives have three responsibilities. First, they organize conference panels (up to a limit of five) in their subject areas for the RSA Annual Meeting, and submit them to the RSA submission site. This helps to ensure a good balance of disciplines in the conference program. Such panels are accepted by the program committee without further vetting as long as the panels comply with the RSA guidelines.

Second, Discipline Representatives make up the Advisory Committee for Renaissance Quarterly and are listed in the journal. The Advisory Committee is an invaluable resource for the RQ Articles Editor and the RQ Reviews Editor.

Finally, Discipline Representatives also serve on the RSA Council, which meets at the Annual Meeting.

A Discipline Representative is elected for a three-year term and may, after consultation with the Executive Committee of the RSA Board of Directors, run for a second term. If a Representative is unable to finish their term, the Executive Committee appoints an interim who serves until the next election takes place.

Discipline Representatives 2018–21

Africana Studies
Janie Cole
Eric R. Dursteler
Carina Johnson
Alexandra Walsham

Alejandra B. Osorio

Brian Jeffrey Maxson

Art and Architecture
Ethan Matt Kavaler
Sarah W. Lynch (Interim)
Bronwen Wilson

Islamic World
Kaya Sahin

Book History
Earle Havens
Italian Literature
Eleonora Stoppino

Classical Tradition
Gordon Braden

Legal and Political Thought
Todd Butler

Comparative Literature
Marsha S. Collins

Medicine and Science
Caroline Petit

Digital Humanities
Angela Dressen
Evan MacCarthy

Tamar Cholcman

Neo-Latin Literature
Susanna de Beer

English Literature
Susannah Monta
Joseph M. Ortiz
Ramie Targoff

Performing Arts and Theater
Robert Henke

French Literature
Philip John Usher

Sara Miglietti (Interim)

Germanic Literature
James Parente

Tamar Herzig

Dana E. Katz

Elizabeth Skerpan-Wheeler

Hispanic Literature
Miguel Martínez
Women and Gender 
Mihoko Suzuki

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal