This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Book Prize

The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Best Book Prize in Renaissance Venetian Studies will be awarded by the RSA in 2021 for a book on Venice in the period 1300-1700 published during the previous two years. The award includes an honorarium of $1,000. To be eligible the book must be written in English by a current member of the RSA. Books in Venetian studies that were eligible for the RSA’s Gordan prize will automatically be eligible for the Delmas prize; relevant books submitted in the year in which the Delmas Prize is not awarded will be held for the following year and need not be resubmitted. The deadline for the next award, to be given in 2021, is 15 July 2020; books published between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2020 are eligible.

6 April 2020 Update: Please do not mail books for consideration to the RSA offices, as the staff is working remotely at this time. Updates regarding the submission process for the 2021 Delmas Prize will be posted in this space and communicated to current RSA members via email later this summer.

Recipient of the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation Book Prize

2019 – Helena Katalin SzépeUniversity of South Florida
Venice Illumninated: Power and Painting in Renaissance Manuscripts (Yale University Press).

Previous winners

  • 2017 – Rosa Salzberg, Ephemeral City: Cheap Print and Urban Culture in Renaissance Venice (Manchester University Press).
  • 2015 – Mary E. Frank and Blake de Maria, Reflections on Renaissance Venice: Essays in Honor of Patricia Fortini Brown (Five Continents/Abrams).
  • 2013 – E. Natalie Rothman, Brokering Empmire: Trans-Imperial Subjects between Venice and Istanbul (Cornell University Press).
  • 2011 – Karl Appuhn, A Forest on the Sea: Environmental Expertise in Renaissance Venice (Johns Hopkins University Press).
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal