This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors a lifetime of uncompromising devotion to the highest standard of scholarship accompanied by exceptional achievement in Renaissance studies. It is intended for a scholar whose accomplishments call to mind the example of Paul Oskar Kristeller. The award is designed to honor a scholar for lifetime achievement rather than an individual work or works of scholarship. Recipients must be senior scholars of the highest distinction, and known to have actively mentored others in their field. They must generally be of emeritus rank, if from academic life, or equivalent standing otherwise. The recipient must be a living scholar who is, or has been, a member of the Renaissance Society of America, and, ideally, has participated in RSA activities.

The selection will be made at the October meeting of the Board of Directors and announced at the following Annual Meeting. Nominations are rolling and can be submitted at any time, with a cut-off date of 14 September to be considered for the award given at the following Annual Meeting. The pool of nominees will be held over from year to year, so neither repeat nominations nor campaigns are necessary. Since the candidates will be of such distinction that they will be known to a wide swath of the membership, only a short letter of nomination is required, at most one page.

Submit a Nomination for the Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

Recipients of the Paul Oskar Kristeller Lifetime Achievement Award

2020 Patricia Fortini Brown, Princeton University

Previous winners

2019 Erika Rummel
2018 Margaret L. King
2017 Paul F. Grendler
2016 Barbara Lewalski
2015 Michael J. B. Allen
2014 Natalie Zemon Davis
2013 Ronald G. Witt
2012 James Hankins
2011 François Rigolot
2010 Cesare Vasoli
2009 Richard Goldthwaite
2008 Lewis Lockwood
2007 David Rosand
2006 Arthur F. Kinney
2005 John W. O’Malley
2004 Nancy Siraisi
2003 Christiane Klapish-Zuber
2002 David Bevington
2001 Eugenio Garin
2000 Gene A. Brucker
1999 Thomas M. Greene
1998 James S. Ackerman
1997 Charles Trinkaus
1996 F. Edward Cranz

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal